A year and six months

Yes, the title is obvious. I have been in Bellerbys College Brighton for one year and six months and it has been a very great and valuable experience. Let’s start with the studies part because it is the main reason of coming to UK. I started off doing A Levels in Bellerbys College in January 2013. The classes were all understandable and test that were given in class were alright. However, I struggled learning Biology and Chemistry. I could not really cope and at the same time I had homesick. During the April exams, I tried my best in the four subjects but in the end the results were not very satisfying. Later during the summer, I received an email from the college recommending me to change to Foundation Programme. I was quite reluctant to change at the start because I believed that if I retake the papers I will be able to do better. But, the problem is I won’t be able to make it to the better ranked universities.

When I came back in September 2013, I have decided to change it to Business Foundation Programme. Until now, I did not regret changing to Foundation Programme because I have received offers from five universities which are City University of London, Bath University, Leeds University, Queen Mary University of London and SOAS University of London. In the end I have put City University of London as my firm and insured Queen Mary University of London. Doing the foundation program was different from A Levels. Foundation Programme consist of exams and coursework but A Levels was only exams based. This meant that I had to work through the term to achieve the best results.

Moving on to the social side where I have made a lot of friends from different countries. It was nice meeting and socializing with them because I was able to learn some facts about their country and also introduce my country. However it was only meeting them, I did not really get the chance to hang out with them. During A Levels, most of my friends were from my country. This is probably due to the fact that I really miss home and I could feel a sense of being home when I hang out around with them. Later in September I started going out with people of different nationalities. Foundation classes consist of the same people throughout the whole program. I had the same friends for 8 months since the program started. During the first term, I helped my friends in their coursework, homework and personal statement. My tutor have chosen me as the class representative. Being the class representative have given me the responsibility of listening and voicing out my classmates opinions.

To conclude, Bellerbys College Brighton has given me a lot of opportunities to discover my true-self and I will not forget the memories I have created here with my fellow friends and teachers. It was definitely one of the best moments I have ever had in my life so far.

 

Leave a comment